The Inquisition – Sandy DeLuca


Before I took a short break from blogging at the turn of the year I subjected Sandy DeLuca to the Inquisition. I need to apologise to Sandy for not posting it before now, so sorry.

Sandy DeLuca is a poet, artist and a wonderful horror author. Her first novel Settling In Nazareth was published in 2003, you can read more about Sandy at her website here.

1 – Which book has been most influential in your career?

Actually there are many books, but two come to mind at present: MIDNIGHT COWBOY and DELIVERANCE. Although not horror, both are dark and brim over with visceral aspects and the darker side of humanity.

2 – Which writer has most influenced your style?

Again, there are many, but for now I’ll mention James Dickey. That’s because he’s also a poet and capable of lush verse and prose.

3 – What’s the future for the horror genre?

I believe it could have a bright future if more publishers began to produce good dark literary horror. Publishers such as Delirium Books, Damnation Books and several others are producing some interesting work. The publishers care about the genre and strive to both entertain and enlighten readers. Women have a lot to say. Some of the best female authors have unique voices and different approaches to characters and subject matter. I’m glad the above publishers are giving women a shot.

 At present the genre is spilling over with inferior fiction. This tends to give horror a bad name and readers do not take it seriously. Publishers, such as Uninvited Books, have the courage to publish work that is above the rest. It’s sad that more publishers do not have this courage and conviction. At one time horror was thought to be a noble genre, but with things such as talking intestines running amuck, I’m afraid the masses will continue to view horror as a joke.

I want to be clear. I love zombies, vampires and things that go bump in the night. Bram Stoker wrote a masterpiece about vampires. So, when the subject matter, and the author’s vision, is executed properly these traditional monsters can come alive with depth and powerful voices.

4 – Which book do you wish you had written?

SKIN, by Kathie Koja; SUICIDE BLONDE by Darcey Steinke; IN COLD BLOOD by Truman Capote.

5 – What writing equipment could you not live without?

My Kindle because I currently store research material on the device and my PC.  I also have shelves filled with traditional research books.

This is offbeat, but I tend to “paint” my work in between chapters. Paint and canvas give me a chance to create characters and settings visually.  It’s my own unconventional way of clearing my mind and “seeing” my fiction.

6 – Do you plan in detail before starting a new piece of writing?

Yes, I do. Notes, outlines and sketches are important to me. Research is also important.

7 – Ebooks or Paper Books?

Two years ago I scoffed at Ebooks, but now I think they rock. However, I continue to love my collection of paper books.

8 – Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

Dark fiction mostly.

9 – Who should I read next?

Masterful authors such as Greg F. Gifune, Robert Dunbar, Christopher Conlon and Lisa Mannetti.

10 – What was your last book and what is your next book?

My last book was DARKNESS CONJURED. The limited edition hardcover has sold out, but it’s available as an Ebook here.

Uninvited Books has just released my novel DESCENT in paperback, which can be found here.

My next release will be INTO THE RED, published by Damnation Books, available here.

I am close to completing a novel called PRAYERS FOR SOLSTICE. It’s a piece I began to write in the 90s, believe it not. In addition, I’ve just completed a novella called MESSAGES FROM THE DEAD. Thanks for the interview. I appreciate it.

Thanks Sandy and apologies again for the delay.

1 Comment

Filed under Interview

One response to “The Inquisition – Sandy DeLuca

  1. Thanks, Sandy!! What a lovely thing to say!

Leave a Reply

