The Inquisition – Greg F. Gifune

Greg F. Gifune writes literary horror like few others. In my review of Children Of Chaos (here) I described it as “deep, thought provoking, emotionally engaging but above all highly readable”.  With a string of notable novels including DOMINION, THE BLEEDING SEASON, DEEP NIGHT, BLOOD IN ELECTRIC BLUE, SAYING UNCLE, A VIEW FROM THE LAKE, NIGHT WORK, DRAGO DESCENDING, CATCHING HELL and JUDAS GOAT as well as many short stories and collections Gifune’s work has justifiably been recognised through multiple nominations for the Bram Stoker Awards, The British Fantasy Awards and the International Horror Guild Award. It’s a great pleasure to welcome Greg F. Gifune to The Inquisition.

1. Which book has been most influential in your career?

Probably THE BLEEDING SEASON, as it’s been called a classic by many already and it really helped put me on the map, so to speak. I also think when it’s all said and done GARDENS OF NIGHT will be right up there too, as I think it’s some of my best work. But it’s hard to say, really. I’m very proud of all my novels, and they’ve all influenced my career in one way or another, it’s just a matter of degrees.

2. Which writer has most influenced your style?

Honestly, too many to list here.

3. What’s the future of the horror genre?

Well, seeing how I just created the Future of Horror Award then gave it to myself, I’m pretty sure it’s me.

4. Which book do you wish you had written?

“To the Lighthouse” and/or “Deliverance.”

5. What writing equipment could you not live without?

Sex, drugs, alcohol, my laptop, paper and red pens. Wait. What was the question?

6. Do you plan in detail before starting a new piece of writing?

Always. Ideas tend to sit in my head for years before I even attempt to write them.

7. Ebook or Paper Books?

Both. No reason to choose when you can have the best of both worlds.

8. Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

Good fiction.

9. Who should I read next?

Me. If you’ve already read me, rinse and repeat. I’ve got a mortgage.

10. What was your last book and what is your next book?

Just finished a novel called MIDNIGHT SOLITAIRE, which will be out from Delirium Books later this year. As for what I’m working on next I never talk publicly about a project until it’s completed. I don’t know why, exactly, I’ve just never been comfortable doing that.

Leave a comment

Filed under news

Leave a Reply

