The Inquisition – Peter Mark May

 

Peter Mark May was born in Walton on Thames Surrey England way back in 1968 and still lives nearby in a place you’ve never heard of called Hersham. He has had two novels Demon and Kumiho published and his 3rd novel Inheritance (and 1st American with new US Publishers Eternal Press as P.M.May) is out in the fall. He had short stories published in genre Canadian & US magazines and in a UK anthology of horror.

 

1 – Which book has been most influential in your career?

The House on the Borderland by William Hope Hodgson, because it was so different to the Stephen King, James Herbert books I was reading at the time, it gave my mind somewhere to play and led me to HP Lovecraft also, which I eternally grateful for.

2 – Which writer has most influenced your style?

I would say at a push F.Paul Wilson, I seem to identify with his style, lovely man he is too.

3 – What’s the future for the horror genre?

It will still be around, when all the sexy vampires and werewolves have been staked or shot with silver bullets. It might be a lot harder to find, but it will be there in the dark places of Amazon waiting for the brave reader to come along.

4 – Which book do you wish you had written?

Mystery by Peter Straub, because I’ll never be that brilliant.

5 – What writing equipment could you not live without?

PC and my imagination.

6 – Do you plan in detail before starting a new piece of writing?

Each book is different, some are planned and researched to the last detail like my novel Kumiho set mainly during the Korean War, while my book Inheritance just grew and grew out of a short story idea with little planning. Alot of my best ideas come from dreams, including the plots for my next two novels.

7 – EBooks or Paper Books?

Paperbacks all the way for me, my bookshelves would look bare otherwise.

8 – Horror, Weird Fiction or Dark Fiction?

I’m old I read horror and I write horror, the rest is pigeon holing for PR people.

9 – Who should I read next?

What apart from my stuff, any short stories from Stephen Bacon, he’s in an anthology I’m editing at the moment called Alt-Dead. Or anything by Joe McKinney or Adam Nevill they won’t disappoint.

10 – What was your last book and what is your next book?

Last book was Inheritance by Eternal Press and my next one is a novella out now on kindle and eBook is Dark Waters from Damnation Books. Both are also for sale on Amazon.

 

Thanks Peter

Leave a comment

Filed under horror, news

Leave a Reply

