News From the Abyss 11/2/11

Joseph D’Lacey will shortly be releasing his novels Garbage Man and Meat in the USA. As part of a promotion the books are currently available in ebook format at the frankly silly price of £1.99. I read and reviewed Garbage Man on the old Highlander’s Book Review site (and thoroughly enjoyed it). I will be reviewing Meat in the very near future. In the meantime there is a short video advertising the promotion here:-

Meat ebook promotion

————————————

Tor Books are about to start a new author interview series on Twitter. Although focused more on SF and Fantasy than Horror it might still be worth a look. More info here.

————————————

Chomu Press (website here) are to publish Mark Samuels The Man Who Collected Machen as a paperback original in March. This is from the publisher :-

The Man Who Collected Machen and Other Weird Tales

by Mark Samuels

Publication Date: 16th March, 2011

ISBN: 978-1-907681-05-9

Paperback, 178 pages, 8.0 x 5.25 x 0.41 inches

Cryptic and potent languages, bizarre cults, mysteries that span the gulf between life and death, occult influences that reverberate through history like a dying echo, irresistible cosmic decay, forces of nightmare that distort reality itself, gateways to worlds where esoteric knowledge rots the future.

Here, from Mark Samuels, the author of Glyphotech and Other Macabre Processes and modern exemplar of mystical horror, is a collection of tales that forms a veritable Rosetta Stone for scholars of cosmic wonder and terror.

Contents

Losenef Express

The Man Who Collected Machen

THYXXOLQU

The Black Mould

Xapalpa

Glickman the Bibliophile

A Question of Obeying Orders

Nor Unto Death Utterly by Edmund Bertrand

A Contaminated Text

The Age of Decayed Futurity

The Tower

About The Author

Mark Samuels is a London-based writer of horror and fantastic fiction in the tradition of Arthur Machen and H. P. Lovecraft.

Born in 1967 in Clapham, South London, he was first published in 1988, and his short stories often focus on detailing a shadowy modern London in which the protagonists gradually discover a dark and terrifying reality behind the mundane urban world. His works have been praised by Thomas Ligotti and John Pelan amongst others.

What People Say

About Mark Samuels’ previous work:

“…dark, tragic, ominous but ultimately a reflection on ourselves and the society we live in. Mark Samuels, like Thomas Ligotti, looks beyond the supernatural into some dark void which lurks in our minds, he then proceeds to show us the really scary stuff that lurks in that darkness. [The White Hands] is a marvelous collection…”

Highlander’s Book Reviews

That last quote was (again) from the old Highlander’s Book Review site (he really knew what he was talking about, wonder what ever happened to The Highlander…ahem) and again Mark Samuels is sadly missing from this site so I am looking forward to reading and reviewing The Man Who Collected Machen soon.

———————————————

Generation Next Publications (website here) are releasing some excellent titles are are running a Tim Lebbon competition, details below :-

Purchase a copy of the eBook Until She Sleeps by Tim Lebbon on Amazon (here) and you are eligible to win a limited-edition, autographed hardcover copy of Until She Sleeps and an autographed paperback copy of Echo City and 30 Days of Night: Fear of the Dark along with a personal note from Tim Lebbon.There is a code that is only found in the Amazon eBook edition that must be eMailed to us to enter this contest.

Contest ends on March 31, 2011. The winner will be randomly drawn from all entries on April 4, 2011.

————————————————-

And that’s the news. I’ll be back on Monday with a review of Mark West’s In The Rain With The Dead.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under news

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s